Top500 Supercomputers

8 05 2008

Today, I was quite amazed to read about supercomputers. This evening, I started reading my daily technology news from my Google Reader Feeds which compiles a list of groundbreaking articles from various websites like New Scientist, New York Times, BBC Technology News amongs others. As one thing leads to another, I drifted from reading about China’s Anti-Satellite (ASAT) test, global climate issues, Google’s brain drain, to NASA’s ambition to join the petaflop elite.

A few minutes later, I landed on wikipedia, reading about supercomputers and petaflops. So, did you know what is the most powerful supercomputer on Earth? Humbly, I didn’t know. Now, I do.

IBM’s BlueGene/L tops the list and I was quite impressed that a few of IBM’s machines feature among the Top10. A few years back, IBM and Microsoft news were at the corner of every streets. Then everyone started talking about Google, Facebook, Yahoo, Intel, nVidia etc. But now, I’m convinved IBM is still doing something great, though not much popular.

A few institutions are working towards the petaflop era, expecting the huge behemoth supercomputers to handle larger models and simulations. Further information can be found here.

Actions

Information

6 responses

9 05 2008
Dilraj Mathoora

Hi!
Yes indeed IBM is rocking when it comes to the world’s fastest supercomputers with its BlueGene. Avinash told us to have a look at some architectures for Parallel Computing…

Thanks for news about the ‘small’ brain-drain at Google… I’ll go there and then open my restaurent :P

9 05 2008
Shailen Sobhee

I guess you will have to wait till the Chief Executive Chef leaves Google for Facebook, for your restaurant :p Lol

In any case, we can be partners for the project :)

2 06 2008
postconsonantal

Postconsonantal says : I absolutely agree with this !

19 06 2008
Harried

Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation :) Anyway … nice blog to visit.

cheers, Harried!!

1 09 2008
name

Good day!,

30 11 2009
alin

Actually, the top supercomputer, starting November 2009, is a Cray made with the new AMD Opteron 6-core processors, and it runs at around 2 petaflops.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

